christian shops and sellers

Find Christian artists, businesses, and products here – giveaways and more!

Featured Artist: myeuropeantouch August 28, 2010

Filed under: Featured Artists and Sellers — christianmarketplace @ 1:30 pm

Featured Artist: myeuropeantouch on Etsy!



Myeuropeantouch on Etsy offers handmade Mosaic’s, functional art mosaic’s on vintage furniture, mirrors and teapots for the Shabby, Cottage Chic lifestyle.


She shares a bit about herself, her store, and her love for the Lord.


Please tell us a little about yourself:

My name is Monika. I have been an artist all my life and worked with a lot of different mediums; been a mosaic artist for 8 years now. I specialize in doing mosaics using a style referred to as “Pique Assiette or Tesserae” This process involves transforming vintage china/porcelain plates into artistic designs that are always one of a kind, and my own.

Growing up in Germany shortly after WWII; watching my parents re-use, re-cycle, re-invent – my involvement in the arts developed very early at about 5 years of age. Trying to make new candles from candle stumps – melting them on my little doll cooking stove, using simple yarn for candle wicks; it went “whoosh” and I almost burned the house down. Clothing my dolls by sewing, crocheting, knitting and cross stitch. Creating clay vases, paint and draw in my family’s home in Germany to now creating/working in my home in Florida. My interests and talents have evolved over time. Any type of art has been a constant presence in my life.
After all this experimenting with my very diverse talents I have grown into and have a very addictive desire to create MOSAIC, done from precise cut/nipped vintage fine bone china/porcelain plates, paired with stained glass mosaic, vintage jewelry and other tidbits and baubles. My tools are Glass Nippers, Wheeled Cutters, Glue, Grout and Sealer; sometimes paint. I do custom orders and always involve my clients in the process of creating THEIR art piece.

What inspires you to create your work?

I create from my thoughts, feelings and inspirations around me. Our world throws so much away… I reclaim/re-invent unwanted items from various sources and breathe new life/usefulness in them, create functional, fabulous, or whimsy Mosaic Art.

What is your favorite thing to make/sell?

Obviously my handmade mosaics, it is so addictive. I compare it to making my own puzzles, not directed by someone else’s cuts, as in puzzles you buy. My substrates are vintage and vary. My favorite by far is a discarded unplayable violin. Second to my Tea Pot Lamps made from old silver plated discarded teapots and of course my side tables and mirrors.

What is the best part about being a Christian Seller?

I feel I bid God’s will by using his talents freely given to me and know they are not mine to keep. I have to share with others. Christian and none Christian alike. Finding other Christian Sellers online is a bonus…

Why do you do what you do?

That ties in with the above and making mosaics gives me so much joy. To watch what comes out of my mind and soul when I look at the finished product is just amazing. Sometimes it brings me to tears and great “awe” what God allows me to do.

What are your hobbies?

My hobbies are numerous, I think right at the top is singing God’s praises. I am in a church choir, sing solos and duets, and a member of the Jacksonville Symphony Chorus for special performances.

Second of course, is making my mosaics, after that I am trying all kind of other crafts whatever my mind led’s me to, when I see an object. I love to sail, being so close to God on the water and in the wind, haven’t had much opportunity lately. I love classical music and love to go to the Opera.

What is your favorite book/movie/music?

In that order, the Bible, Movie: Gone with the Wind, all the composers starting with a “B”

Bach, Beethoven, Berlioz, Bartok, Brahms…and I love the Opera.

What is one of your most loved Bible verses?

My favorite, Matthew 18:20 “20 For where two or three come together in my name, there am I with them.”

And Psalm 16

1 O Lord, you have searched me ‘ out and ‘ known me; you know my sitting down and my rising up; you dis’cern my ‘ thoughts · from a’far. 2 You mark out my journeys ‘ and my ‘ resting place and are ac’quainted with ‘ all my ‘ ways. 3 For there is not a word ‘ on my ‘ tongue, but you, O Lord, ‘ know it ‘ alto’gether. 4 You encompass me be’hind and be’fore and ‘ lay your ‘ hand up’on me. ‡ 5 Such knowledge is too ‘ wonderful ‘ for me, so ‘ high that I ‘ cannot at’tain it. 6 Where can I go then ‘ from your ‘ spirit? Or ‘ where can I ‘ flee · from your ‘ presence? 7 If I climb up to heaven, ‘ you are ‘ there; if I make the grave my bed, ‘ you are ‘ there ‘ also. 8 If I take the ‘ wings of the ‘ morning and dwell in the ‘ uttermost ‘ parts · of the ‘ sea, 9 Even there your ‘ hand shall ‘ lead me, your ‘ right hand ‘ hold me ‘ fast. 10 If I say, ‘Surely the ‘ darkness will ‘ cover me and the light a’round me ‘ turn to ‘ night’, 11 Even darkness is no darkness with you; the night is as ‘ clear as the ‘ day; darkness and light to ‘ you are ‘ both a’like.

(optional end)

12 For you yourself created my ‘ inmost ‘ parts; you knit me together ‘ in my ‘ mother’s ‘ womb. 13 I thank you, for I am fearfully and ‘ wonder·fully ‘ made; marvellous are your ‘ works, my ‘ soul knows ‘ well. 14 My frame was not ‘ hidden ‘ from you, when I was made in secret and ‘ woven · in the ‘ depths of the ‘ earth. 15 Your eyes beheld my form, as ‘ yet un’finished; already in your book were ‘ all my ‘ members ‘ written. ‡ 16 As day by day ‘ they were ‘ fashioned when as ‘ yet ‘ there was ‘ none of them. 17 How deep are your counsels to ‘ me, O ‘ God! How ‘ great ‘ is the ‘ sum of them! 18 If I count them, they are more in number ‘ than the ‘ sand, and at the end, ‘ I am ‘ still in your ‘ presence.

 

19 Responses to “Featured Artist: myeuropeantouch”

  1. Monika! What a blessing you are!
    Your mosaics are soooo beautiful and so is your spirit.
    I always love your creations.
    blessings,
    starrydeborah

  2. Lenore Says:

    Oh, my goodness…what stunningly beautiful pieces. Congratulations, Monika!

  3. Radyne Says:

    Monica your art is so nice to look at. To have a piece of it in a room would bring in such personality and charm. God has given you a wonderful gift, thank you for sharing it with us.

  4. Cathy Says:

    Monika’s mosaics abe absolutely beautiful! I own several small and large pieces and just love them. I have told her that one day I will have to buy a violin because that seems to be her “trademark”.

    • Cathy Says:

      Someone needs to spellcheck this person’s comments 🙂 Is it abe or are? So excited to see all your awesome pieces I didn’t proof my comment.

  5. Great feature!! Monika’s work is so beautiful and so is she!!

  6. Great to get to know more about a fellow CAST member!! Your work is stunning!!!! I want that cake plate top!!! Divine!!

  7. Loustudio Says:

    Congrats ! lovely to learn more about you. Just beautiful work you do.

  8. What beautiful mosaic work. I loved hearing your story Monika and your praises!

  9. Monika, I love your artwork. So creative and you use anything as your structure, from a violin to a cake plate…awesome talent indeed.

    Roxanne
    http://www.watercolorsnmore.etsy.com

  10. Oh my goodness, you all are very kind to leave such lovely comments. I am grateful to know everyone of you. Thank you…
    I will do a “give-a-away” in a lil while…
    Monika

  11. Joyce Says:

    Monika, it was nice to get to know you better and to see just why you do what you do, this was a great feature, I have a lot of things in common with you, our love of crafting, singing the Lord.

    I have always admired what you make and now I will know the person behind the art more, I remember my Mom made a mosaic tile coffee table when I was a child, she recovered an old coffee table with the tiles.
    I always thought that mosaic tile art to be beautiful.
    Take care

    Joyce

  12. karen Says:

    Awesome pieces of art Monika! I love what you create, better yet, that you give credit to God for the talents that you have.

  13. Monika………..Now I know why your name is spelled with a “k” instead of a “c”. You were born in Germany ! That makes you seem a bit exotic – like your “one of a kind” creations. I enjoyed getting to know you better and love it that we are “sisters” in Abba’s big family.

  14. Great interview! I just love her shabby chic mosaic side tables… Makes me wish I had an aged Victorian house to redecorate!

  15. Your work is SO beautiful!!! Wish I had more money!!
    Nice to learn more about you!

  16. Again, thank you all for haing a peek. I was glad to share a bit of my life and art and how God works in my life.
    Everyone of you is very kind.
    Monika


Leave a Reply

