christian shops and sellers

Find Christian artists, businesses, and products here – giveaways and more!

Featured Artist: JCs Sewing Room September 4, 2010

Filed under: Featured Artists and Sellers — christianmarketplace @ 8:00 am

Featured Artist: JCs Sewing Room on Etsy!

JCs Sewing Room on Etsy specializes in handmade walker and wheelchair accessory items to give you a helping hand.
Please tell us a little about yourself.

I was born and raised in Columbus Ohio, but now live in South Florida.  My grandmother was a quilter and did lovely hand embroidery.  She taught me how, which eventually led to sewing and other crafts.   I actually won an award in high school for a dress I made for myself.

What inspires you to create your work?

When I see a need, I try to fill it.  Trying to help others during difficult times has always given me a great inner joy.

What is your favorite thing to make/sell?

Currently I’ve been making what I call Helping Hand Pocket Pouches.  They’re medium size tote bags that hang on walkers or wheelchairs.  They hold a variety of objects that free the users hands to operate the walker safely.  I love using bright and colorful prints.  They take that “utilitarian” feel away.

What is the best part about being a Christian seller?

I worked in the corporate world for many years.  I hated the way employees were treated and the practices of management towards the business.  Being a Christian seller, I can be sure that Christ is the center of my motives and profits.

Why do you do what you do?

I believe God gave me the talent of sewing and crafting.  To use it to help others and to help with the income of the household.

What are your hobbies?

I love to garden and take care of the yard.  Now that I no longer have to punch a time clock, I can spend more time planting and nurturing, instead of just maintaining.

What is your favorite book/movie/music?

My favorite book would have to be the Bible.  As far as movies, I tend to gravitate toward sci-fi and action films.

What is one of your most well-loved Bible verses?

I hold Proverbs 31 close to my heart.  Being a good wife and partner is very important to me.

 

6 Responses to “Featured Artist: JCs Sewing Room”

  1. JC, how beautiful of you to share yourself. I do think you have a “nitch” there. I own a bed pocket, stuffed under my mattress for books and glasses etc…would not do without it. Beuatiful work, my dear…
    Monika
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/myeuropeantouch

  2. karen Says:

    Great to see your new bedpockets! Awesome things, wish I had had one years ago when I needed one. Would have saved my mom tons of walking!

  3. Great feature! Love the new bedpockets too. 🙂

  4. sue anderson Says:

    Waiting for the bedpockets. Am I missing them?

    ♥♥♥
    Sue

  5. What a neat idea!! Great shop! Always neat learning more about the seller!
    Christie

  6. Thank you for the feature and the opportunity to tell you a little about myself and my shop. Many thanks, as well, to all of you for the wonderful comments.


Leave a Reply

