christian shops and sellers

Find Christian artists, businesses, and products here – giveaways and more!

Featured Artist: Knit Matters on Etsy November 15, 2010

Filed under: Featured Artists and Sellers — christianmarketplace @ 8:00 am

Featured Artist: Knit Matters on Etsy!

Knit Matters is a shop with handmade items made with good, quality yarns and they are carefully designed for everyday use.

She knits to order, and also offers yarns, needles, felting yarns and gift wrapping and much much more!
She also stocks Novita yarns, which are high quality Finnish yarns, durable, versatile and made with 80 years of knitting know-how.


1. Please tell us a little about yourself.

I’m 35 years old, and I’ve been knitting for last 24 years. I’ve been knitting since I was 11 (the basic’s in knitting and other crafts are taught to us in primary school), but I do have to admit after being forced to knit a pair of woolly gloves, where the end result was neon pink yarn (think 80’s) covered with tears and snot as the finishing result, not to mention other glove being 3 times bigger than other, I swore not to knit ever again. This oath lasted until my older sister waltzed in to our kitchen wearing a stunning hand knitted jumper! I desperately wanted to have exactly the same jumper and more importantly I wanted to learn how to make one. So after quite many painful attempts and endless advice from both, my mother and sister, I finished off my first jumper and haven’t stopped since.

2. What inspires you to create your work?

My biggest inspiration comes from every day life and fashion trends of course. As a mother and lover of clothes, I do get frustrated with items that look good, feel horrid to wear or items which don’t fill the purpose. As an example, my son needed a pair of gloves for winter, and we bought him a spiderman styled ones from well known clothes shop. The end result of this frustrating purchase was that my son looks cool, but his hands are freezing as gloves are made from such an synthetic material it’s equal to usefulness of wearing a plastic bag in minus degrees. I can do better job by making a pair of gloves by myself, from yarn which is washable, warm and skin friendly.

3. What is your favorite thing to make/sell?

I’ m most well known from my slippers and cardigans, I love wearing them,and knitting them-hence my obsession with these items.

4. What is the best part about being a Christian seller?

The best part of being a Christian seller is the team CAC, in Etsy.

5. Why do you do what you do?

I do my handycrafts to keep the beauty and sensibility in my life. I work in every day life in a normal cruel business enviroment, which involves around money and making of it. My knitting is a way out of that world, using God’s given gifts to create something beautiful out of a string of yarn.

6. What are your hobbies?

My hobbies are knitting (I could not resist, sorry…), reading, movies and my family and my dog.

7. What is your favorite book/movie/music?

I love rock’n roll, and the films by Pedro Almodovar, Kieslowski, Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez. The list of the favorite book is endless, as it includes everything between Portrait of Dorian Gray to Anna Karenina and to a Liisa Seppälä’s book about Celtic Christianity.

8. What is one of your most well-loved Bible verses?

My most loved bible verse is 1. Cor. 13:1–8, as it reminds me of the gift of love, and how to pass it forward, which is not as easy as it sounds. Other one is Jeremiah 29:11, which is a good reminder of God’s plans for us.

 

5 Responses to “Featured Artist: Knit Matters on Etsy”

  1. I have always loved handknitted things, especially sweaters, but have never been successful in completing anyone I started because it always stressed me out. So I just admire and desire….

    Your items are so beautiful! You are very talented and as I read you were very determined to learn! I don’t think I’ve seen such fine handknitted mittens and slippers! And, so clorful!

    Many blessings and much success with your shop!
    Laurie
    http://www.kingdomkards.etsy.com

  2. Katie King Says:

    Oh, it looks so comfy! The dog sweater is so cute 😉 Too bad I’m moving to an island soon…I shall miss cold weather.

  3. Great to learn more about you! You do beautiful work!! Glad you braved those knitting needles! I crochet, but knitting scares me! LOL Knit looks so beautiful tho…I would like to learn.

  4. Riikka Says:

    Thank you so much for featuring me and for your all kind comments!!

  5. Alejandra Says:

    I never learned how to knit, I couln’t finish my first project when I was 9 years old so I admire those who can do it. About your hobbies LOL God bless you 🙂


Leave a Reply

