christian shops and sellers

Find Christian artists, businesses, and products here – giveaways and more!

Featured Artist: A Sense of Place Photography on Etsy November 22, 2010

Filed under: Featured Artists and Sellers — christianmarketplace @ 8:00 am

Featured Artist: A Sense of Place Photography on Etsy!

 

Hi. I’m Katie King, and I’m very excited to be here and meet Brittany as well as you readers! I fall into the young married & quirky self-employed category.  I’ve been blessed with a handsome husband, recent college diploma, and cute puppy, so I don’t really know what else I could ask for at this point except for a part-time job, which I’m working on.

 

My hobbies are making art & ideas. Maybe God wants me to be an art & idea match-maker, I can’t tell yet.  Thanks to Him, I can write songs, plays, and make photographs. I enjoy researching artists, installations, movements & manifestos.

 

I love Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close very much. Forrest Gump is my favorite movie, hands down although I did really recently enjoy Megamind. I would see that movie twice.

Music is a biggie for me. I enjoy Paleo, Neutral Milk Hotel, Tegan & Sara, Deb Talan, Dido, Feist & Thomas Function, just to name a few.

 

My most recently loved Bible verse is one that one of my non-Christian friends ironically introduced to me. Proverbs 20:24 “Since the Lord is directing our steps, why try to understand everything that happens along the way?”. What peace and protection that gives, especially for an over-analytical worry wart like me!

 

The best part about being a Christian shop owner is the challenge and responsibility that comes a long with it. I’m not just representing myself, I’m representing Him. I’m not just in this for personal gain, I’m in this to share his Glory and to be a light for others. Knowing that is one thing, but choosing how to do that is something special. I’m feel like I’m not giving back unless I actually, well, give back. My ideal goal with A Sense Of Place Photography is to become a charity that harbors several different artists that can give one piece of fine art to every house built by Habitat For Humanity, free of charge. It is an idea I am only just starting to consider and network towards.

 

Here are some of my photographs that help me to sit back & enjoy life. One of my missions as a photographer is to try and catch God through film. It is when I photograph beautiful mountainous landscapes especially that I am simply taken aback by His presence. For example in this photograph: http://www.flickr.com/photos/asenseofplacephotography/4051516219/in/set-72157622560867659/. I hope you can find Christ’s vast love in whatever your sense of place is.

 

Thanks for looking and thanks so much for having me here!

 

3 Responses to “Featured Artist: A Sense of Place Photography on Etsy”

  1. Nice to meet you Katie!! Your photo’s are lovely!! I like the sunflower one in your Etsy shop!

  2. I love fine art photography! I have hearted your shop.

  3. Katie King Says:

    Thank you so much for featuring me on here! This is a lovely article and blog. Thank-you, Christie & Rachel. Happy Holidays!


Leave a Reply

